Special Education

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is the federal law that outlines rights and regulations for students with disabilities in the United States who require special education. The law specifies how schools must provide or deny services.


There are Thirteen qualifying disabilities.

If a disability is not listed then look to Section 504 for services.

  • Autism

  • Deaf-blindness

  • Deafness

  • Emotional disturbance

  • Hearing impairment

  • Intellectual disability

  • Multiple disabilities

  • Orthopedic impairment

  • Other health impairment (including ADHD)

  • Specific learning disability (including dyslexia, dyscalculia and dysgraphia, among others)

  • Speech or language impairment

  • Traumatic brain injury

  • Visual impairment, including blindness

Understanding the Individualized Education Program from Understood.org.

Step by Step
Learn how to Apply for services.

Federal Information

U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs.